Friday, 30 July 2010 00:00

Looking forward to Coalition aged care policy

The Campaign for Care of Older Australians (CCOA) has welcomed the imminent release of the Coalition’s policy on aged care.

“Mr Abbott’s acknowledgement of problems facing the aged care sector, and in turn older people depending on services, is a step in the right direction,” CCOA said.
“However, his caution that the Coalition policy will be carefully targeted, prudent and responsible due to the Commonwealth’s ‘fiscal position’ is troubling.
“Every government must be clear about its priorities regardless of economic constraints and Australians need to know if the Coalition will commit to urgent reforms.
“The problems confronting the delivery of residential and community aged care services have been building for many years.
“Older Australians need to know their care and support is being taken seriously.
“Hospitals are already caring for thousands of older people unable to access appropriate residential care or support services when they leave hospital. Far too many others have difficulty finding the care they need to help them through each day.
“This unacceptable situation will only get worse without the vision and commitment to plan for the services we know will be needed by our ageing population.
“We ask Mr Abbott to show his compassion and demonstrate how he will help older Australians who don’t have the luxury of waiting for successive governments to make a difference to their lives when it counts.”

For more information on CCOA’s policy for aged care visit

CCOA comprises the peak bodies and national service providers of residential and community based aged care services.
Media contact: Chris Hornsey 0419 513 432
Aged & Community Services Australia, Aged Care Association Australia, Anglicare Australia,
Baptist Care Australia, Catholic Health Australia, Churches of Christ Living Care, Sir Moses
Montefiore Jewish Homes, Lutheran Aged Care Australia, The Salvation Army Aged Care
Plus, The National Presbyterian Aged Care Network, UnitingCare Australia